Keep Moving Forward

When I was interning as a special effects intern in Hollywood, my boss had a special talk with me about “the film industry.” He encouraged me to follow my dreams, and yada yada yada,…but one thing he said to me stuck out, and I will never forget.

He said, in his raspy “Jonah Jameson” voice (Jonah Jameson is the excitable newspaper chief in Spiderman if you don’t know who that is) “Even when you fall flat on your face, you’re still moving forward.”

I guess I’d never thought about life like that. Even in our darkest moments, there is always an opportunity to learn, and continue moving forward.

I’ve been discouraged lately, feeling like I’m not moving much. But when I take a good solid look back at where I’ve been these past couple of months – I’ve been amazing at how much I’ve learned. Even in the times that I feel like I’ve fallen, and failed at a project,…I’ve learned what it takes to correct it,…what it takes to avoid the same mistake, and what it takes to keep looking forward.

The production world is full of failures. Even the “top professionals” make mistakes, and we see it everyday.

Proverbs 3:5-6 says

“5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
6 in all your ways acknowledge him,
and he will make your paths straight.

Trust in the Lord, enjoy the ride, and keep moving forward!

